Thursday, 13 June 2024
Major Earthquake Strikes Turkey

Major Earthquake Strikes Turkey

Earthquake, which struck at 4.17 a.m. (0117GMT), centered in Pazarcik district of southern Kahramanmaras province. A total of 1,710 buildings collapsed after the earthquake.

Turkey’s Disaster and Emergency Management Authority (AFAD) said the 7.4 magnitude quake struck at 4.17 a.m. (0117GMT) and was centered in the Pazarcik district in Turkey’s southern province of Kahramanmaras. The quake occurred at a depth of 7 kilometers (4.3 miles).

AFAD said in a statement that 78 aftershocks occurred following the earthquake.

Gaziantep, Sanliurfa, Diyarbakır, Adana, Adıyaman, Malatya, Osmaniye, Hatay, and Kilis provinces are heavily affected by the quake.

Konya Metropolitan Municipality has started preparations to send aid to the earthquake region. With the first light of the day, search and rescue teams, mobile kitchen and emergency aid kits will be delivered to the region.